top of page


Download Application


In 1985, Frank and Wanda Winiarz, co-presidents of the Polish Arts Club of Buffalo, Inc. established the Polish Arts Scholarship Trust.  It began with the investment of approximately $25,000 from the profits of a National Convention that the Club hosted in 1985.  Robert Ciesielski, attorney and club member, drew up the formal Trust agreement.

Three trustees, who are elected by the directors of the Polish Arts Club, administer the scholarship.  The trustees have the responsibility of investing the funds of the scholarship, so that money will be available for future awards. Wanda Winiarz was the chair of the trustees from the conception of the scholarship until 1996.  Leonard Sikora was the trustee chair from 1996 to 2010. Stan Nowak is the current trustee chair.

The members of the selection committee advertise the scholarship, review the applications, and interview each of the finalists. Annemarie Franczyk was the selection chair from 1986 to 1998, and Anne Flansburg has been selection chair from 1998 to the present.

Since 1986 the Polish Arts Club of Buffalo Scholarship Foundation has awarded 69 scholarships to Polish American students for a total value of $69,000.

The applicant must be a student with Polish ancestry, a legal resident of New York State and majoring in the Visual or Performing Arts in an accredited College or University.  Furthermore, the applicant must be enrolled at the junior, senior or graduate level. The student must also reside in the Western New York area. An application is available on the website, and must be completed and postmarked by the specified deadline.


Additional Requirements
A 300 or more word essay on a Polish Artist who contributed to your field or study and 2 letters of recommendation from professional or academic sources.

Applications will be accepted after March 1, 2024 and must be postmarked by May 1, 2024.


Interview Committee     

  • Anne Flansburg  

  • Regina Hanchak

  • John Medwid

  • Stanley Nowak

  • Anne Szczesny


  • Stanley Nowak (Chair)

  • Anne Flansburg

  • Felix Klempka

Scholarship Recipients – 1986 to present

This list of Polish Arts Scholarship winners is compiled from a list furnished to the Trustees by Annemarie Franczyk, selection chair from 1986 to 1998, and Anne Flansburg, selection chair from 1998 to the present.


1986    Karen Kleinmann                 Mary Swartzwelder
1987    Alan Kryszak                        Mary Swartzwelder
1988    Cynthia Przybyl                    Alan Kryszak
1989    Peter Kopera                        Alan Kryszak
1990    Krzysztof Witek                    Thomas Witakowski
1991    Thea Zastempowski             Elaine Pawlak
1992    Christopher Sierzchula         Debra Imiolo
1993    Jolie Marie Brown                 Peter Jakubowski
1994    Jeffery Kazukiewicz     
1995    Jeffery Kazukiewicz              Michael Slon
1995    Kristinn Rzepkowski     
1996    Justin Pomietizarz                 Michele Kiec
1997    Jarnot     
1998    Suzette Henry                       Steven Backowski
1999    Jessie Wicher     
2000    Jessica Kielb     
2001    Laurie Stahrr     
2002    Kristen Kubisty                      Ericka Milczarski
2003    Chris J. Handley                   Tara Laurie
2003    Mary Beth Wrobel     
2004    Bryan Banach                       Kelly Bochynski
2004    Steven Dunning                    Lindsay Gabryszak
2005    Michael Rakoczy                  Sabatino Scirri
2005    Kyle-Lynn Tuttle     
2006    Stephani Greer                     Gregory Wlosinski
2007    Trevor Jelowski     
2008    Rose Valby                            Elizabeth Wojtowicz
2009    Cyril Bodnar III                      Brittany Mruczek
2010    Christina Slomczewski
2011    Rachel A. Bicheler       
2012    Sarah Lewandowski             John Smigelski
2013    Kyle Baran                            Mary Jane Masiulionis
2014    Patricia Manos                      Mark Pietruszka
2015    Justin Kohan                         Aaron Zakrzewski
2016    Brandon Mellerski                 Conrad Ziarniak

2017    John Szablewski
2018    Justina Wolanin
2019    Collin McCrea                        Amelia Wroblewski
2020    Ryan Washcalus
2021    Evangelista Schmarder

2022    Anna Pascucci                        Kristen Smigielski

2023    Melanie Babak                        Elizabeth Fomenko

bottom of page